Skip to content

Winners Announced for the Fall 2023 Texas Insurance Law Student Writing Competition

  • News

In the Fall 2023, the Council sought submissions from all ten accredited Texas law schools for the Fourth Annual Student Writing Competition. Students were asked to submit articles on an insurance-law related topic of their choosing. In response, submissions were received from numerous Texas law schools, and The Insurance Law Section is pleased to announce the following 2023-2024 winners:

  • 1st Place Winner ($4,000)
    • “Navigating Uncharted Territory:  Insurance Coverage in the Era of Autonomous Vehicles”
      – Shawn D. Matthijetz, University of Houston Law Center
  • 2nd Place Winner ($2,000)
    • “Can Public Insurance Provide Solutions for the Complexities of AI Insurability?”
      – Logan Massey, 2L, The University of Texas School of Law
  • 3rd Place Winner ($1,000)
    • “Comparing Catastrophe: An Incentive Analysis of Government Flood and Terrorism Insurance Programs”
      – Nikolas (Niko) Fotinos, The University of Texas School of Law | Class of 2024

The Section wishes to thank all of our annual sponsors that make the annual writing competition possible and congratulates all of the 2023 participants. Scholarship awards have been forwarded to each of the winning students who made the fourth annual competition a great success. The Section looks forward to working with our statewide law schools next year to receive even more submissions from up-and-coming young lawyers.

The Insurance Law Section expressly thanks Platinum Sponsors Thompson, Coe, Cousins & Irons, L.L.P.; Gray Reed & McGraw LLP; Zelle LLP; Gravely PC; and Wray Willis LLP. The Section also thanks Gold Sponsor Nelson Forensics, LLC.

Back To Top

Forgot Password?

Join Us