skip to Main Content

Insurance Law Section
of the State Bar of Texas


Promoting collegiality and educating the bench, bar, and public about Texas insurance law.

The Insurance Law Section is an official, sanctioned section of the State Bar of Texas consisting of approximately 2,200 members. Membership is open to all members of the State Bar of Texas.

Join the Insurance Law Section

Join the Insurance Law Section today using our secure online registration. Simply add the dues to your cart and click ‘View Your Cart’ to checkout. You may also join via your My Bar page on the State Bar of Texas website. On that site you would login with your State Bar credentials and then click “View or Purchase My Sections” in the left column. Or you may download the membership application to pay by mail with a check.

History of the Insurance Law Section

To read about the history of the Section as told by former Chairs, click here.


Current Section Bylaws  |  Section Policies & Procedures Manual

The Insurance Law Section is governed by a council elected from the Section membership at the Section’s annual meeting. Section officers are elected from and by the council.

Officers 2021 – 2022

Chair Douglas P. Skelley
Chair-Elect: Stephen A. Melendi
Secretary:  Robert J. Cunningham
Treasurer:  Rebecca DiMasi
Publications Officer/Editor: Jason McLaurin*
Technology Officer: Jes Alexander
Executive Director: Donna Passons
Immediate Past ChairPamella A. Hopper

Council 2021 – 2022

Term Expiring in 2022

Catherine L. Hanna
Jennifer W. Johnson
Jason C. McLaurin*
Marjorie C. Nicol
Paul K. Stafford
James W. Willis

Term Expiring in 2023

Christopher H. Avery
Cathlynn H. Cannon
Blair Dancy
Katherine J. Knight
Matthew S. Paradowski
Lauren E. Parker
Steven Schulwolf
R. Wade Vandiver

Judicial Liaisons (2023)
Justice Brett Busby
Justice Debra Lehrmann

SBOT Board Liaisons (2021-2022)
Carra Miller
Thomas A. Crosley

Back To Top

ILS Login

Forgot Password?

Join Us

Password Reset
Please enter your e-mail address. You will receive a new password via e-mail.